Published Titles
   Life Science
   Earth Science
   Prehistoric Life
   Modern Animals
    Quest for Flight
    Flying Machines
    Warbirds of WWI
    Warbirds of WWII
    Strategic Bombers
    US Tri-Service Fighters
    Principals of Flight
    High Flight Poem
    B-29 Wing Patches
    B-47 Wing Patches
    B-52 Wing Patches
 Space Exploration
 Work in Progress
 Information for Dealers
US Tri-Service Fighters

US Tri-Service Fighters

B256 U.S. Tri-service Fighters
For many years, each of the U.S. military services had its own aircraft designation system, which could be confusing. For example, the Korean War era jet fighter built by North American was called the F-86 Sabre/Sabrejet by the Air Force and the FJ Fury by the Navy. That changed in 1963 when the United States Department of Defense introduced the Tri-service aircraft designation system. This system has since been used by all U.S. military aircraft. The letter represents the basic aircraft type. "F" represents fighters. Other types include "B" for bombers and "C" for cargo planes. This poster shows all the U.S. fighters that have actually flown under this system. It includes all those flown by the Air Force, Navy and Marines since 1963. Surprisingly, the Lockheed F-117 Nighthawk used the old Air Force designation system although development did not begin until 1975. It didn’t make its first flight until 1981.


Need Help?
Our friendly customer service folks are
available 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM EST, workdays. 
Toll Free Phone 855-FEENIXX (333-6499)
Toll Free Fax (888) 243-9440



Feenixx Publishing
Editorial Offices
Box 2203
Petersburg, VA 23804