Feenixx Publishing
Home New Work In Progress Dealer Information Download Catalog
New Titles:
US Tri-Service Fighters

US Tri-Service Fighters

B256 U.S. Tri-Service Fighters
    For many years, each of the U.S. military services had its own aircraft designation system, which could be confusing. For example, the Korean War era jet fighter built by North American was called the F-86 Sabre/Sabrejet by the Air Force and the FJ Fury by the Navy. That changed in 1963 when the United States Department of Defense introduced the Tri- Service aircraft designation system. This system has since been used by all U.S. military aircraft, with one exception (see below). The letter represents the basic aircraft type. “F” represents fighters. Other types include “B” for bombers and “C” for cargo planes.
   This poster shows all the U.S. fighters that have actually flown under this system. It includes all those flown by the Air Force, Navy, and Marines since 1963. The one exception is the Lockheed F-117 Nighthawk, as it used the old Air Force designation system although development did not begin until 1975. It made its first flight in 1981.
Need Help?
Our friendly customer service folks are
available 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM EST, weekdays.
Toll Free Phone 855-FEENIXX (333-6499)
Toll Free Fax (888) 243-9440
Feenixx Publishing
Editorial Offices
1115 Overbrook Road
Petersburg, VA 23805
(804) 504-5190